Shaykh I would like know if ‘Spirit vinegar’ is permissible (halal) due is being used in many products such as Baked beans etc…Jazaak Allah

This post has 377 views.

Ref no: 0207#

Date: Sunday, June 05, 2011

Category

Food

Title

Question

Shaykh I would like know if ‘Spirit vinegar’ is permissible (halal) due is being used in many products such as Baked beans etc…Jazaak Allah

Answer

Muhtaram / Muhtaramah

In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāh wa-barakātuh.

 

It is permitted to consume wine vinegar—whether it transformed by itself or through intervention.   [Al-Hidaya]

قال شيخ الإسلام المرغيناني (رحمه الله تعالى) في الهداية: قال ( وإذا تخللت الخمر حلت سواء صارت خلا بنفسها أو بشيء يطرح فيها , ولا يكره تخليلها ) وقال الشافعي : يكره التخليل ولا يحل الخل الحاصل به إن كان التخليل بإلقاء شيء فيه قولا واحدا , وإن كان بغير إلقاء شيء فيه فله في الخل الحاصل به قولان له أن في التخليل اقترابا من الخمر على وجه التمول , والأمر بالاجتناب ينافيه ولنا قوله عليه الصلاة والسلام { نعم الإدام الخل } من غير فصل , وقوله عليه الصلاة والسلام { خير خلكم خل خمركم } ولأن بالتخليل يزول الوصف المفسد وتثبت صفة الصلاح من حيث تسكين الصفراء وكسر الشهوة , والتغذي به والإصلاح مباح , وكذا الصالح للمصالح اعتبارا بالمتخلل بنفسه وبالدباغ والاقتراب لإعدام الفساد فأشبه الإراقة , والتخليل أولى لما فيه من إحراز مال يصير حلالا في الثاني فيختاره من ابتلي به , وإذا صار الخمر خلا يطهر ما يوازيها من الإناء , فأما أعلاه وهو الذي نقص منه الخمر قيل يطهر تبعا وقيل لا يطهر ; لأنه خمر يابس إلا إذا غسل بالخل فيتخلل من ساعته فيطهر , وكذا إذا صب فيه الخمر ثم ملئ خلا يطهر في الحال على ما قالوا . قال الإمام أكمل الدين البابرتي (رحمه الله تعالى) في العناية شرح الهداية: وقوله ( وإذا تخللت الخمر ) يعني أن خل الخمر حلال عندنا سواء تخللت بنفسها أو خللت . … فإن قيل : فما تصنع بقوله صلى الله عليه وسلم { لا ولكن أرقها حين سأله أبو طلحة عن تخليل خمر أيتام عنده } , وبما روي ” { أنه صلى الله عليه وسلم نهى أن يتخذ الخمر خلا } ” أجيب عن الأول بأن ذلك في ابتداء التحريم

Ingredients such as white wine vinegar, cider vinegar and Spirit vinegar are permissible.

Vinegar is produced by two successive microbial processes. The first being an alcoholic fermentation (which is Haraam) and the second an oxidation of alcohol by aceto bacter, when it’s molecular structure is changed and it ceases to be an intoxicant.

Other varieties of vinegar are produced from beetroot, tarragon and alcoholic spirits. In vinegar the intoxicating factor is destroyed by the microbial process of oxidation hence it becomes permissible. Islam permits any variety of vinegar to be used as a condiment or preservative.

And Allah knows best
Darul Iftaa

Madrasah Inaa’miyyah

 

 

· The Sharée ruling herein given is specifically based on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.

· The Darul Ifta bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer. The Darul Ifta being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.

· This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of the Darul Ifta.