Please guide me on its Halaal/Haraam status

This post has 379 views.

Ref no: 0239#

Date: Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Category

Food

Title

 

Please guide me on its Halaal/Haraam status

Question

My Doctor has advised me Medicines (made in a non-Muslim Country) for Eating and Applying on Foot Skin.  Please guide me on its Halaal/Haraam status:

Q-1:  Is it Halaal for us to eat a Medicine whose Capsul Shell is made of Gelatin (I heard Gelatin is made of animal bones)?

Q-2:  Is it Halaal for us to eat a Medicine which has Unknown or Mashkook Ingredients in it (don’t know whether Halaal or Haraam)?

Q-3:  Is it Halaal for us to eat a Medicine made in a Muslim Country, but we don’t know whether its Ingredients are Halaal or Haraam?

Q-4:  Do we have to do Tahqeeq (Investigation) about the Ingredients of a Medicine whether its Ingredients are Halaal or Haraam?

Q-5:  Is it Halaal for us to apply a Medical Cream on Skin which has Alcohol (and Xanthan Gum) in it?

Q-6:  Can we Pray/Salat with a Medical Cream on Skin which has Alcohol (or Animal Oil or other Haraam stuff) in it?

Q-7:  If we have to remove/wash such a Cream before Pray, it is almost impossible to fully remove it (plus we may harm the sick skin)?

Answer

Muhtaram / Muhtaramah

In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāh wa-barakātuh.

 

Q1. Gelatin could be made from bones or skins of animals. If the gelatin is made from the skin of an animal which has been slaughtered and the animal is makoolul lahm (fit for consumption) for example cattle, sheep etc. then such gelatin will be halal (permissible to consume). If the gelatin was made from an animal which was not slaughtered or slaughtered but not makoolul lahm, then the gelatin will not be halal.

If the gelatin is made from bones then it could either be from a slaughtered animal or an animal which was not slaughtered. If the animal was slaughtered the gelatin from it would be permissible in all circumstances whether the bone is wet or dry. If the animal was not slaughtered, the gelatin would only be halal if it was made after the bone has dried. That is all excess fats being removed from the bone.

Gelatin from pigs is not permissible at all.

Below is table to facilitate a better understanding of the above.

Makoolul lahm (fit for consumption) animals

Gelatin from skins

Gelatin from bones

Slaughtered

Halal

Halal

Not slaughtered

Not halal

Halal (if cleaned)

Ghayr makoolul lahm(not fit for consumption) aminals

Gelatin from skins

Gelatin from bones

Slaughtered

Not halal

Not halal

Not slaughtered

Not halal

Not halal

Please note that any gelatin classified as non-halal will be halal if qalb mahiyyat (metamorphosis) takes place.

البيضة إذا خرجت من دجاجة ميتة أكلت وكذا اللبن الخارج من ضرع الشاة الميتة كذا في السراجية .

الفتاوى الهندية  – (ج 5 / ص 339)

قال محمد رحمه الله: ولا بأس بالتداوي بالعظم إذا كان عظم شاة أو بقرة أو بعير أو فرس أو غيره من الدواب؛ إلا عظم الخنزير والآدمي، فإنه يكره التداوي بهما، فقد جوز التداوي بعضم ما سوى الآدمي والخنزير من الحيوانات مطلقاً من غير فصل بينهما إذا كان الحيوان ذكياً أو ميتاً، وبينما إذا كان العظم رطباً أو يابساً، وما ذكر من الجواب يجري على إطلاقه فيه إذا كان الحيوان ذكياً؛ لأن عظمه طاهر، رطباً كان أو يابساً يجوز الانتفاع به جميع أنواع الانتفاعات رطباً كان أو يابساً، فيجوز التداوي به على كل حال؛ أما إذا كان الحيوان ميتاً، فإنما يجوز الانتفاع بعظمه إذا كان يابساً، ولا يجوز الانتفاع به إذا كان رطباً؛ وهذا لأن اليبس في العظم بمنزلة الدباغ في الجلد من حيث إنه يقع الأمن عن فساد العظم باليبس، كما يقع الأمن عن فساد الجلد بالدباغ، ثم جلد الميتة يطهر بالدباغ، فكذا عظمه يطهر باليبس، فيجوز الانتفاع به، فيجوز التداوي به.

وإنما لم يجز الانتفاع بعظم الخنزير والآدمي؛ أما الخنزير فلأنه نجس العين بجميع أجزائه، والانتفاع بالنجس حرام، وأما الآدمي فقد قال بعض مشايخنا: إنه لم يجز الانتفاع بأجزائه لنجاسته، وقال بعضهم: لم يجز الانتفاع به لكرامته وهو الصحيح، فإن الله تعالى كرم بني آدم وفضلهم على سائر الأشياء، وفي الانتفاع بأجزائه نوع إهانة به.

المحيط البرهانى 8/81

وقال محمد رحمه الله تعالى ولا بأس بالتداوي بالعظم إذا كان عظم شاة أو بقرة أو بعير أو فرس أو غيره من الدواب إلا عظم الخنزير والآدمي فإنه يكره التداوي بهما فقد جوز التداوي بعظم ما سوى الخنزير والآدمي من الحيوانات مطلقا من غير فصل بينما إذا كان الحيوان ذكيا أو ميتا وبينما إذا كان العظم رطبا أو يابسا وما ذكر من الجواب يجري على إطلاقه إذا كان الحيوان ذكيا لأن عظمه طاهر رطبا كان أو يابسا يجوز الانتفاع به جميع أنواع الانتفاعات رطبا كان أو يابسا فيجوز التداوي به على كل حال وأما إذا كان الحيوان ميتا فإنما يجوز الانتفاع بعظمه إذا كان يابسا ولا يجوز الانتفاع إذا كان رطبا وأما عظم الكلب فيجوز التداوي به هكذا قال مشايخنا وقال الحسن بن زياد لا يجوز التداوي به كذا في الذخيرة . الفتاوى الهندية  – (ج 5 / ص 339)

لكن إذا كان جلد حيوان ميت مأكول اللحم لا يجوز أكله، وهو الصحيح لقوله تعالى: * (حرمت عليكم الميتة) * (المائدة: 3) وهذا جزء منها. وقال عليه الصلاة والسلام في شاة ميمونة رضي الله عنها إنما يحرم من الميتة أكلها مع أمره لهم بالدباغ والانتفاع، أما إذا كان جلد ما لا يؤكل فإنه لا يجوز أكله إجماعة، لان الدباغ فيه ليس بأقوى من الذكاة، وذكاته لا تبيحه، فكذا دباغه. بحر عن السراج.

حاشية رد المحتار – (ج 1 / ص 203)

Q2. & 3. If a doctor prescribed the medicine with gelatin capsule and there is no alternative, then one will be excused for taking such medicine.

حاشية ابن عابدين 1/210 و 6/389

Q4. One should find out whether the medication is halal or not. If a halal alternative is available, it would not be permissible to consume haram medication.

Q5. If the alcohol is made from anything besides dates or grapes, it will be permissible to use such products. If the alcohol is made from dates or grapes and no alternative is available, then one will be excused.

Q6. & 7 If the alcohol is made from anything besides dates or grapes, the product will be considered pure hence there is no need to remove it. If the alcohol is made from dates or grapes and no alternative is available then one will be excused.

And Allah knows best
Darul Iftaa

Madrasah Inaa’miyyah

 

 

· The Sharée ruling herein given is specifically based on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.

· The Darul Ifta bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer. The Darul Ifta being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.

· This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of the Darul Ifta.